Longshore Division Endorsed Candidates for the primary election

Make your vote count for working families! Support your union’s recommendations in the Primary Elections this August 13, 2016. ILWU members and families are urged to vote for those candidates listed below. Your Political Action Committee made these recommendations after interviewing the candidates and asking them if they would support issues important to working families.


U.S. Senate Brian Schatz
U.S. House District 1 Colleen Hanabusa
U.S. House District 2 Tulsi Gabbard
State Senate
District 1 Kaialii Kahele
District 2 Greggor Ilagan
District 5 Gilbert S. C. Keith-Agaran
District 8 Ron Kouchi
District 9 Stanley Chang
District 10 Les Ihara
District 11 Brian Taniguchi
District 13 Karl Rhodes
District 14 Donna Kim
District 15 Glenn Wakai
District 19 Will Espero
District 20 Mike Gabbard
District 22 Donovan Dela Cruz
District 25 Laura Thielen
State House
District 1 Mark Nakashima
District 2 Clift Tsuji
District 3 Ainoa Naniole
District 4 Joy San Buenaventura
District 5 Richard Creagan
District 6 Nicole Lowen
District 7 David Tarnas
District 8 Joe M. Souki
District 9 Justin H. Woodson
District 10 Angus L. K. McKelvey
District 11 Deidre Tegarden
District 12 Kyle T. Yamashita
District 13 Lynn DeCoite
District 14 Nadine Nakamura
District 15 Thomas Oi
District 16 Dee Morikawa
District 17 Karlen Ross
District 18 Mark J. Hashem
District 19 Bert Kobayashi
District 20 Calvin Say
District 21 Scott Nishimoto
District 22 Tom Brower
District 23 Isaac Choy
District 24 Della Au Belatti
District 25 Sylvia Luke
District 26 Scott Saiki
District 27 Takashi Ohno
District 28 John Mizuno
District 29 Daniel Holt
District 31 Aaron Ling Johanson
District 32 Linda Ichiyama Chong
District 33 Samuel Kong
District 34 Gregg Takayama
District 35 Roy Takumi
District 36 Marilyn Lee
District 37 Ryan I. Yamane
District 38 Henry Aquino
District 39 Ty Cullen
District 40 Randy Gonce
District 41 Matthew LoPresti
District 43 Stacelynn Eli
District 44 Jo Jordan
District 46 Marcus Oshiro
District 47 Sean Quinlan
District 48 Jarrett Keohokalole
District 49 Ken Ito
District 51 Chris Lee
Hawaii County Mayor

Walter Lau
Hawaii County Prosecuting Attorney Mitch Roth
Hawaii County Council
District 1 Valerie Poindexter
District 2 Aaron Chung
District 3 Moana Hokoana Kelii
District 5 Danny Paleka
District 6 Maile David
District 7 Dru Kanuha
District 8 Karen Eoff
District 9 Herbert “Tim” Richards
Maui County Council
East Maui Robert Carroll
Wailuku-Waihee-Waikapu Keith Regan
Kahului Donald Guzman
South Maui Don Couch
Makawao-Haiku-Paia Mike White
Upcountry Yuki Lei Sugimura
Lanai Riki Hokama
Molokai Stacy Crivello
Kauai County Prosecuting Attorney Justin Kollar
Kauai County Council
Arthur Brun
Mason Chock
Ross Kagawa
Arryl Kaneshiro
Derek Kawakami
KipuKai Kualii
Mel Rapozo
Honolulu County Mayor Kirk Caldwell
Honolulu County Prosecuting Attorney NO ACTION TAKEN
Honolulu County Council
District I Kymberly Pine
District III Justin-Michael “Ikaika” Anderson
District V Ann Kobayashi
District VII Joey Manahan
District IX Ron Menor
Office of Hawaiian Affairs Trustee
Molokai Residency Colette Machado
At-Large Haunani Apoliona

OPEN ENDORSEMENT: An “OPEN ENDORSEMENT” means that the Union has no recommendation for the race and members are free to vote for any candidate. However, ILWU officers and stewards should not publicly support any candidate, as that can be seen to mean support by the Union.

NO ENDORSEMENT: A “NO ENDORSEMENT” means members are urged NOT to support or vote for any of the candidates in that race.